Colourpop & Kylie Cosmetics haul

Disclaimer: Don’t take my word for any of it as i’m no beauty guru.

I’ll be honest, i’m a makeup noob. The only cosmetic that I ever use on a regular basis is an eyebrow pencil. While i do apply concealers, lip tints, eyeliner, mascara, contours and highlighters, it is extremely rare. My knowledge of makeup is horribly limited; the only makeup tool that i own are my fingers and i can’t even tell whether my skin tone is cool, neutral or warm. But somehow or rather, i have managed to hoard a bunch of lipsticks that i don’t even use over the past one year.

Anyhoo, i was only intending to get the shadows and the ultra satin lip in Dohee from the JennNeSaisQuoi collection as Colourpop was going to discontinue it, but i lost all control when i started browsing their site. Also, since I was shipping Colourpop cosmetics through ShopandBox, might as well get my hands on some Kylie Cosmetics too.

shopandbox_haul

What’s inside the box?

  1. Kylie Cosmetics Matte Lip Kit in Ginger
  2. Kylie Cosmetics Matte Lip Kit in Koko K
  3. Kylie Cosmetics Matte Lip Kit in Dirty Peach
  4. Kylie Cosmetics Gloss in So Cute
  5. Colourpop Ultra Satin Lip in Frick N’ Frack
  6. Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble
  7. Colourpop Brow Pencil in Dope Taupe
  8. Colourpop Creme Gel Liner in Brew-Haha
  9. Colourpop Creme Gel Liner in Call Me
  10. Colourpop x Kathleenlights Where The Light Is foursome shadows
  11. Colourpop x JennIm Jenn Ne Sais Quad foursome shadows
  12. Colourpop x JennIm Ultra Satin Lip in Dohee

I bought a shit load of stuff, but not every single item is mine though – i’d be truly mad if it were since i don’t even know how to fill in my brows properly.

Although i don’t personally keep up with the Kardashians, i finally caved when Kylie released her lip kit in Ginger. I knew that i had to get it when it launched. It looked like the perfect nude shade and i have been hearing pretty rave reviews about her cosmetics so i figured that i should give it a try.

img_4990_1

Kylie Cosmetics Lip Kit in Ginger

My first impression of Ginger was that it was pretty dark in the bottle and the smell of vanilla is really strong too. I did a quick swatch on my arm and it’s darker than i expected, but i am told that i am very fair so the darkness is unsurprising. The consistency is amazing when i applied it on my arm – it glided on really smoothly and it’s very pigmented. It doesn’t budge under water too. I am pretty impressed so far. Kylie can have my 29 bucks (actually more since it’s in USD) now and more in future as far as i’m concerned.

colourpop2

Check out that holo! I’m starting to become a holosexual after binge watching Simply Nailogical over the past 2 weeks. Do excuse the pigments on my arm – i was too lazy to remove it after testing the Kathleenlights pigments.

Okay, back to Colourpop. Cruelty free and affordable? I’m sold. While i haven’t heard as much about Colourpop as Kylie Cosmetics, i thought i’d get an eyeliner, eyebrow pencil and a ultra satin lip in addition to the Jenn Im collab products that i was getting. And well um, somehow i ended up carting out Kathleenlights’ Where The Light Is shadows too………. I don’t even know how to use shadows but similar to the Kylie Lip Kit, i knew i just had to get it when i saw the four shades and Kathleenlights’ tutorial. But we’ll see how it goes. I’ll probably use it 5 years down the road or something when i’m more dedicated in doing my makeup. Wait, does makeup even keep for that long?

super-shock_2

img_4982_1

Jenn Im x Colourpop Ultra Satin Lip in Dohee

img_4980_1

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Bumble

Colourpop’s super shock shadows are incredible when i tested it on my arm. Similar to Kylie, it seems to be waterproof when i put my arm under running water. The colour pay off is super intense. Can we talk about how shimmery it is?! Really liking it so far and i can’t wait to learn how to apply eyeshadows proper.

Leave a Reply

